top of page

Activities

A new generation

of educational video games

A DIAGNOSIS AS A MANIFESTO

In just a few years, video games have become a worldwide social phenomenon that extends to the entire social and cultural sphere. Its industry weighs more than the film and book industries. 90% of students are now gamers. However, video games have not yet found their place in the world of education. There are specific reasons for this, to which Ikigai proposes to provide answers in order to put educational video games at the service of education by addressing a mature audience of gamers.

 

Educational games have difficulty meeting the quality criteria to which the market has accustomed users because their development requires many skills that projects have difficulty in bringing together. Their development cost is high and the thematic offer is limited. Therefore, the pooling of resources in educational structures is essential. With a life cycle that is too often limited both by their content and by the evolution of machines, educational games are waiting for a dedicated and centralized platform that guarantees the quality and visibility of their distribution. Their handling is also not well adapted to a teacher population.

Compétences

All skills

serving a new generation of video games.

The Ikigai Games For Citizens association has a team of video game and web development professionals. It puts its know-how and resources at the service of teachers and institutions for the realization of personalized projects with high educational value. The large-scale distribution of the productions towards students is ensured through the Ikigai.games portal, as well as through the main stores on the market, for use on computers as well as on smartphones. This dedicated platform of services provides a global environment offering multiplayer use, the collection and processing of learning analytics for the constant improvement of learning contexts, as well as simple and user-friendly management tools for partner institutions.

Collaboration and mutualization

as a means of producing quality digital content.

Video game is at the crossroads of many skills, which makes it a rich and complex environment. For it to become an efficient educational tool, it requires knowledge in game design, programming, web development, user experience design, art direction but also in didactics, educational engineering, learning analytics (data processing), network administration for a public of teachers and students, etc. The Ikigai consortium and its association Games For Citizens aim to bring together all the players in the field of educational games in order to mobilize their skills in a collaborative, shared and transdisciplinary approach.

This is the way to optimize production costs in order to make development of video games on a large scale accessible. While promoting the development of skills in schools, Ikigai allows for an increase in the volume of the edutainment offer (a new educational video game produced within the network requires the mobilization of a typical budget of 50 to 200 k€. As a reminder, industry games can cost up to 500 million euros!)

Collaboration

Big data and artificial intelligence

in the service of education.

The Ikigai platform ensures the collection of usage data of the educational games on an unprecedented scale in an ethical and GDPR-compliant approach. The collection of sufficiently large amounts of data is a determining factor in unlocking on the use of artificial intelligence for digital pedagogy, the construction of learning representations, and the formulation of pedagogical advice for the benefit of learners. The Ikigai platform therefore offers a unique opportunity to conduct ambitious research and to place France and Europe in a leadership position in this strategic area, in order to succeed in the challenge of hybridizing training and lifelong learning.

Big data

Digital gaming at the service

of your structure.

of a sustainable strategy

The large-scale distribution of gamified educational solutions, video games or print & play board games, constitutes an element of influence and valorization for each partner of the network. The Ikigai team takes care of the maintenance of the sources and their regular recompilation to follow the evolution of the different operating systems that support the games. It also ensures that the games are available on the main market stores and on the dedicated Ikigai portal. Our platform guarantees the sustainability of our partners' investments by ensuring the integration of the games developed, their evolution over time, and their use in a genuine quality approach. The Ikigai.games portal is the nerve center of the educational video game industry, bringing together millions of pupils, students, professionals and citizens in a popular education approach. It is an essential tool for institutions wishing to be part of the educational innovation landscape.

Stratégie

Mediation

for cultural and scientific subjects.

Beyond its purely educational objectives, video game is a way to reach new populations that are not very sensitive to traditional methods of scientific and cultural mediation (museums, science festivals, exhibitions, conferences, etc.). Offering playful activities directly accessible on computers or smartphones, but also in public transport, are opportunities to attract new audiences to more traditional activities. At a pivotal moment in the evolution of our societies faced with major changes, raising awareness and transmitting the results of research is a major societal challenge. Featuring  information exchange systems that stimulate the involvement of players and teachers, our creations also allow for the development of gamified participatory research strategies.

Médiation

at the service of your projects.

A methodology

The Ikigai network assists its partners for authentic shared projects benefiting from all the network's infrastructures. Our team of professionals provides personalized assistance to define the outline of the projects in terms of game design; we can take charge of all or part of the development.

Ikigai generally assists establishments in two stages.

• The composition of the multidisciplinary team intended for the development of the game; the definition of the specifications based on a controlled and credible provisional budget.

• The development of the game itself when the funds have been mobilized, possibly by responding to calls for tender with the support of the network. The approach is at the initiative of the partners in order to develop their project. The only obligation is to share, at the network level, the solutions developed in a win-win mode.

Méthodologie
bottom of page

Pour une nouvelle génération

de jeux vidéo éducatifs

UN DIAGNOSTIC EN GUISE DE MANIFESTE

En quelques années, le jeu vidéo est devenu un phénomène de société mondial qui s’étend à toute la sphère sociale et culturelle. Son industrie pèse plus que celles du cinéma et du livre. 90% des étudiants et étudiantes sont aujourd’hui des joueurs ou joueuses. Pourtant, le jeu vidéo n’a pas encore trouvé toute sa place dans le monde de l’éducation. Il y a à cela des raisons spécifiques auxquelles Ikigai propose d’apporter des réponses pour mettre les jeux vidéo pédagogiques au service de l’enseignement en s’adressant à un public de joueurs arrivé à maturité.

 

Les jeux éducatifs rencontrent des difficultés à répondre aux critères de qualité auxquels le marché a habitué les utilisateurs car leur développement nécessite de nombreuses compétences que les projets ont du mal à réunir. Leur coût de développement est élevé et l’offre thématique restreinte. La mutualisation des ressources dans les structures éducatives s’avère donc indispensable. Avec un cycle de vie trop souvent limité tant par leurs contenus que par l’évolution des machines, les jeux éducatifs sont en attente d’une plateforme dédiée et centralisée garantissant la qualité et la visibilité de leur diffusion. Leur prise en main est aussi peu adaptée à une population d’enseignants.

 

L'ensemble des compétences

au service d'une nouvelle génération de jeux vidéo.

L’association Ikigai Games For Citizens dispose d’une équipe de professionnels du jeu vidéo et du développement web. Elle met son savoir-faire et ses ressources au service des enseignants et des établissements pour la réalisation de projets personnalisés à haute valeur pédagogique. La diffusion à grande échelle des productions est assurée auprès des étudiants grâce au portail Ikigai.games, ainsi que via les principaux stores du marché, pour une utilisation aussi bien sur ordinateur que sur smartphone. Cette plateforme dédiée de services fournit un environnement global offrant une utilisation multijoueurs, la collecte et le traitement des learning analytics pour l’amélioration constante des contextes d’apprentissage, ainsi que des outils de gestion simplifiés et conviviaux pour les établissements partenaires.

La collaboration et la mutualisation

comme moyens de produire du contenu numérique de qualité.

Le jeu vidéo est au carrefour de nombreuses compétences, ce qui en fait un environnement riche et complexe. Pour qu’il devienne un outil pédagogique performant, cela demande des connaissances en game design, programmation, ergonomie web, direction artistique mais aussi en didactique, ingénierie pédagogique, learning analytics (traitement des données), administration réseau pour un public d’enseignants et d'étudiants, etc. Le consortium Ikigai et son association Games For Citizens ont pour vocation de rassembler l’ensemble des acteurs du jeu pédagogique afin de mobiliser leurs compétences dans une approche collaborative, mutualisée et transdisciplinaire.

C’est le moyen d’optimiser les coûts de production afin de rendre accessible le développement de jeux vidéo à grande échelle. Tout en privilégiant une montée en compétence des établissements, Ikigai permet une augmentation du volume de l’offre ludopédagogique (un nouveau jeu vidéo éducatif réalisé au sein du réseau nécessite la mobilisation d’un budget typique de 50 à 200 k€. Pour rappel, les jeux de l’industrie peuvent coûter jusqu’à 500 millions d’euros !).

 

Le big data et l'intelligence artificielle

au service de l'éducation.

La plateforme Ikigai assure la collecte des données d’utilisation des jeux éducatifs proposés à une échelle jamais réalisée dans une approche éthique et respectueuse du RGPD. La collecte des données en quantité suffisamment importante est un enjeu déterminant pour lever le verrou de l’utilisation de l’intelligence artificielle au service de la pédagogie numérique, de la construction de représentations des apprentissages, et permet la formulation de conseils pédagogiques au service des apprenantes et apprenants. La plateforme Ikigai offre donc une opportunité unique de mener des recherches ambitieuses et de placer la France en situation de leader sur cette thématique stratégique pour réussir le pari de l’hybridation des formations et de la formation tout au long de la vie.

 

Le jeu numérique au service 

de votre structure.

d'une stratégie pérenne

La diffusion à grande échelle des solutions éducatives gamifiées, jeux vidéo ou jeux de plateau en print & play, constitue un élément de rayonnement et de valorisation pour chaque partenaire du réseau. L’équipe Ikigai prend en charge la maintenance des sources et leur recompilation régulière pour suivre l’évolution des différents systèmes d’exploitation supportant les jeux. Elle assure également leur mise en ligne sur les principaux stores du marché et sur le portail dédié Ikigai. Notre plateforme garantit donc la pérennité des investissements de nos partenaires en assurant l’intégration des jeux développés, leur évolution dans la durée, et leur utilisation dans une authentique démarche qualité. Véritable centre névralgique du jeu vidéo éducatif, la portail Ikigai.games regroupant à termes des millions d’élèves, d’étudiants, de professionnels et de citoyens dans une démarche d’éducation populaire, propose un outil indispensable pour les établissements souhaitant compter dans le paysage de l’innovation pédagogique.

 

La médiation

culturelle et scientifique.

Au-delà de ses objectifs purement pédagogiques, le jeu vidéo constitue un moyen de toucher des nouvelles populations, peu sensibles aux méthodes traditionnelles de la médiation scientifique et culturelle (musées, fête de la science, expositions, conférences…). Proposer des activités ludiques directement accessibles sur ordinateur ou smartphone, mais aussi dans les transports en commun, et constituent autant d’opportunités pour attirer de nouveaux publics vers des activités plus traditionnelles. À un moment charnière de l’évolution de nos sociétés confrontées à des changements majeurs, sensibiliser et transmettre les résultats de la recherche est un enjeu sociétal majeur. Munis d’un système d’échanges d’information stimulant l’implication des joueurs et des enseignants, nos créations permettent également le développement de stratégies de recherche participative ludifiée.

 

au service de vos projets.

Une méthodologie

Le réseau Ikigai accompagne ses partenaires pour d’authentiques projets partagés bénéficiant de l’ensemble des infrastructures du réseau. Notre équipe de professionnels propose une aide personnalisée afin de définir le contour des projets en termes de game design et peut prendre en charge tout ou partie des développements.

Ikigai accompagne généralement les établissements en deux temps :

• la composition de l’équipe pluridisciplinaire destinée au développement du jeu ; la définition du cahier des charges reposant sur un budget prévisionnel maîtrisé et crédible.

• le développement du jeu en lui-même quand les fonds ont été mobilisés, grâce éventuellement à la réponse à des appels d’offres avec l’appui du réseau. La démarche est à l’initiative des partenaires afin de développer leur projet. La seule obligation est le partage, à l’échelle du réseau, des solutions développées dans un mode gagnant-gagnant.